Safeguarding

Safeguarding Statement

Honiton Community College is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare and safety of all students and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. We strive to ensure that consistent and effective safeguarding procedures are in place to support families, students and staff at school.

The safeguarding concern form can be viewed here

The Designated Officer for Child Protection (DOCP) is Nick Millward.

Deputy Designated Officer for Child Protection (DDOCP) is Jackie Rees

Other staff trained in child protection are:

  • Andy Holt – Vice Principal
  • Marie-Claire Adams – Assistant Principal
  • Rob Robson – Assistant Principal
  • Tom Skelding – Head of Years 10 & 11
  • Pippa Wyatt – Head of Years 7 & 8
  • Rachel Smith – Head of Year 9
  • Sasha Pidgon – Student Wellbeing Coordinator
  • Sue Smith - Student Wellbeing Coordinator
  • Jeanine Ledward - Student Wellbeing Coordinator
  • Joy Taylor - Student Wellbeing Coordinator

Honiton Community College has policies and procedures in place to deal effectively with child protection and safeguarding issues, which include tackling radicalisation and extremism, together with recording and monitoring processes.

To promote a safe environment for students, Honiton Community College employs a strict selection and recruitment policy which includes all statutory checks on staff and regular volunteers including Enhanced DBS (disclosure and barring service) checks.

All staff are trained to a level appropriate to their safeguarding responsibilities ranging from basic awareness for all, to Level 3 for key staff. Other safeguarding training is attended by relevant staff and governors. The training is monitored and comprehensive records kept by the DOCP.

All concerns are passed through members of staff who are trained as ‘Designated Officer for Child Protection in school in compliance with the HM ‘sharing of information’ guidance March 2015. Staff are required to report any causes of concern to the school safeguarding team. Referrals are logged and monitored to make sure that they are followed up appropriately.

Student attendance is monitored closely and concerns shared as appropriate with parents/carers, Devon Educational Welfare service, Social Care and the school Safeguarding team. Honiton Community works effectively with other agencies and parents/carers when necessary to safeguard young people.

If you have any serious concerns about your child, another student or a member of staff at Honiton Community College please do not hesitate to contact the Designated Officer for Child Protection ( Nick Millward) who will be able to provide you with the best advice and help using the appropriate degree of confidentiality.

Nick Millward - . The Designated Officer for Child Protection (DOCP) nmillward@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 01404 42283 ext 234

Jackie Rees - Deputy Designated Officer for Child Protection (DDOCP) jrees@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 01404 42283 ext 257

Andy Holt – Vice Principal aholt@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Marie-Claire Adams – Assistant Principal madams@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Rob Robson – Assistant Principal rrobson@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Tom Skelding – Head of Year 10 & 11 tskelding@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Pippa Wyatt – Head of Years 7 & 8 pwyatt@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Rachel Smith – Head of Year 9 rsmith@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Sasha Pidgeon – Student Wellbeing Coordinator spidgeon@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Sue Smith - Student Wellbeing Coordinator ssmith@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Jeanine Ledward - Student Wellbeing Coordinator jledward@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk 
Joy Taylor - Student Wellbeing Coordinator jtaylor@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk

 

 

Last modified onMonday, 01 February 2016 11:17
More in this category: « The Electronic Learning Centre
                     
 

STUDENTS

Activities Week
Radio Station
YouTube

 

PARENTS

Forms and Information
Parent & Carer Notices
Parent Mail
Parent Pay
Parent Gateway
Newsletter

 

VISITORS

Our Vision
How to Find
College Policies
College Prospectus
Sixth Form Prospectus
Curriculum
Vacancies

 

OTHER LINKS

Home
About
Subjects
Students
Parents
Visitors
Contact


 


Honiton Community College
School Lane
Honiton
Devon
EX14 1QT

T: 01404 42283

E: admin@honitoncollege.devon.sch.uk

 
                     
  • OfSTED
  • Duke of Edinburgh
  • Investors In People (Silver)
  • Specialist Schools
  • Eco Schools (Silver)
  • Science
  • University of Exeter ITE Partner
  • DCC Travelwise (Silver)


Youtube
Honiton Community College on Twitter